Graduate Awards



Emily Urban, PhD (T. Marder)
Ricki Sablove, PhD (C. Yanni)
Yelena Kalinsky, PhD (J. Sharp)
Catherine Boland Erkkila, PhD (C. Yanni)

MAs Completed:

Alia Nour El-Sayed
Benjamin Eldredge
Alexis Jason-Mathews
Andrew Scruggs
Melissa Yuen


Todd Adams
Tiffany Lowe
Michele Racioppi
Laura Rossi
Victoria Sheridan
Adi Sela Wiener
Zoe Watnick



Nicole Logan, PhD (T. Marder)
Olivia Gruber Florek, PhD (S. Sidlauskas)
Cynthia Jacob, PhD (A. Harvey)
Diana Bramham, PhD (S. Sidlauskas)
Lisandra Estevez, PhD (C. Puglisi)
Kim Sels, PhD (J. Marter)
Sarah Wilkins, PhD (S. McHam)

MA recipients

Sara Berkowitz
Eleni Caravanos
Shannon Connelly
Allison Cooper – also completed the Curatorial Certificate
Seraphina Ferraro
Natalie Fleming – also completed the Curatorial Certificate AND the CHAPS certificate
Hilary Haakenson
Catherine Kupiec
Allison Leigh
Mary Manning
Stephen Mandravelis – going to UNC for Ph.D., and also completed the Curatorial Certificate
Kira Maye
Kate Scottv
San Solu
Kathleen Sullivan
Christina Weyl


Eleni Caravanos
Alyssa Hagen
Stephanie Johnson
Randi Ragsdale

Certificate in Historic Preservation – Awarded May 2012

Back, Erica
Drag, Robyn
Fleming, Natalie
Giannullo, Lauren
Goldman, Alyson
Hecht, Stacey
Hindenlang, Leigh Anne
Knigge, Dalynn
Little, Megan
Mariella, Lauren
Ree, Patrick
Richardson, Migdalia
Rotella, Kaylee
Shalumova, Mariya
Tarantino, Alexandra



Adrian Barr, PhD (J. Sharp)
David Boffa, PhD (S. McHam)
Jeremy Canwell, PhD (J. Sharp)
Susannah Fisher, PhD (E. Thuno)
Heather Nolin, PhD (S. McHam)
Ljubomir Milanovic
Florence Quideau
Tuna Sare, PhD (J. Kenfield)
Chiara Scappini, PhD (T. Marder)
Wendy Streule

MA recipients

Catherine Boland Erkkila
Ellen Brueckner
Nicole Deaugustine
Jenevieve Delossantos
Michael Deniro
Brenna Graham
Lauren Kane
Leigh-Ayna Passamano
Robyn Radway

CHAPS MA Students

Nicole DeAugustine
Lauren Kane
Leigh Passamano


Fellowships and Grants awarded to Art History Graduate Students, 2010


Ljubomir Milanovic, PhD (A. Harvey)
Patrick Coleman, PhD (J. Kenfield)
Florence Quideau, PhD (S. Sidlauskas)
Wendy Streule, PhD (C. Puglisi)

MA recipients

Alexa Arroyo
Rebeca Feest
Kimberly Fisher
Cynthia Jacob
Sue Heun Kim
Pamela Margerem
Colette Moryan
Reshma Nayyar
Colette Obzeyta
Faigie Roth
Heather Shannon
Jennifer Simonelli
Alexandra Venizelos



Lisa Neal Tice, PhD (T. Marder)
Ashley Atkins, PhD (S. Sidalauskas)
Donna Gustafson, PhD (J. Marter)
Christine Filippone, PhD (J. Marter)
Erin Benay, PhD (C. Puglisi)
Karen Lloyd, PhD (T. Marder)
Kandice Rawlings, PhD (S. McHam)

MA recipients

Olivia Florek
Haimo Lu
Emily Urban



Theresa Grupico, PhD (J. Kenfield)
Amy Bryzgel, PhD (A. Sharp)
Denise Rompilla, PhD (J. Marter)
Sascha Scott, PhD (J. Marter)
Joseph Giuffre, PhD (S. McHam)

MA recipients

Susannah Fisher
Tatiana Plaxina
Katherine Weaver Scott
Katharine Waller
Fatima Younus



Jennifer Zarro, PhD (W. Bellion)
Mary Tinti, PhD (J. Marter)
Alison Poe, PhD (A. Harvey)
Robert Gross, PhD (J. Kenfield)
Katherine Poole, PhD (S. McHam)
Patricia Zalamea, PhD (C. Puglisi)
Susanne Hillman, PhD (J. Marter)

MA recipients

Jeremy Canwell
Ann Keen
Kandice Rawlings
Ricki Sablove



Fellowships and Grants awarded to Art History Graduate Students, 2007

Jeremy Canwell, J.William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship (for Estonia)

Christine Filippone, Smithsonian Pre-Doctoral Fellowship, Smithsonian American Art
Museum, 2007-08
Pre-Doctoral Fellowship, National Air and Space Museum, 2007-2008
American Association of University Women American Fellowship, 2007-08

Francis Fletcher, University and Bevier Fellowship, 2007-08

Olivia Gruber, Social Science Research Council, Dissertation Proposal Development Fellowship

Mary Shay Millea, Coleman Memorial Fund Art History Fellowship, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2007-08
Travel Fellowship in the History of Art, Kress Foundation, 2007-08

Heather Nolin, Fellowship, Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation
Kress Foundation Fellowship at the Hertziana, Rome [2 year]

Kandace Rawlings, Fellowship, Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation

Sascha Scott, Luce/ACLS Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship in American Art, 2007-08
American Association of University Women American Fellowship, 2007-08

Lisa Neal Tice, Walter Read Hovey Memorial Fund Scholarship

Recent full time positions:

Christopher Atkins, Queens College, City University of New York

Patricia Zalamea, University of Los Andes (Universidad de Los Andes), Bogota

Katie Poole, Eastern Connecticut State University

Caitlin Sproule Davis, Assistant to the Director, The Frick Collection

Elizabeth Gaudino, Assistant to the Deputy Director for External Affairs, The Frick Collection

Tenure awarded:
Stephanie Leone, Boston College


October 2005 – Caitlin Davis
January 2006 – Heather Hess
May 2006 – Aliza Edelman and Christopher Atkins

Master’s Degree:
October 2005 – Justin Christopherson, Lisandra Estevez, Julia Kameron, Kevin Ford, Timothy McManus
January 2006 – Jessica Evans and Florence Quideau
May 2006 – Gretchen Burch and Erin Benay

Certificates in Curatorial Studies:
Gretchen Burch
Caitlin Davis
Aliza Edelman
Lisandra Estevez
Jessica Evans
Florence Quideau

Graduate School awards

Patricia Zalamea won a Bevier and the Graduate School Dissertation Teaching Award.

Kim Curtiss received the ACLS/Luce fellowship for 2006-2007.

Francis Fletcher who won a Kress Travel Fellowship.

Theresa Grupico received a dissertation award from the Business and Professional Women of New Jersey.

Heather Hess, who completed the PhD in October 2005, has been awarded the 2006-2008 Stefan Engelhorn Curatorial Internship at the Busch-Reisinger Museum at Harvard University.

In December 2005, Ann M. Keen was awarded a research grant by the International Olympic Committee to study at the Olympic Studies Centre in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Karen Lloyd received the Kress Institutional Grant for 2 years of study in the Herziana in Rome.

Tuna Sare was accepted to the American School of Classical Studies at Athens for the summer 2006 program.

Sascha Scott was awarded a Predoctoral Fellowship for residency at the Smithsonian American Art Museum during the 2006-2007 academic year.

Jennie Smithken-Lindsay was accepted to the American Academy in Rome's Summer Archaeology Program.

Mary Tinti will receive the departmental Luce award.


David Boffa – Frick Symposium Speaker “Mere Matter into Spirit: Donatello’s St. Louis of Toulouse”

Amy Bryzgel – Philadelphia Museum of Art Symposium Speaker. Amy is currently in Latvia where she recently received a special invitation from the President of Latvia and her husband to attend a ceremony where she and President George W. Bush laid flowers at the Freedom Monument in Riga.

Brian Clancy – The Dean’s Research Award

Kim Curtiss - has been selected as the "Graduate Lecturer" at the National Gallery of Art,
Washington, D.C. for the academic year 2005-06

Julia Kameron was accepted into the Met summer internship program to the Prints and Drawings Department.

Katie Poole - Fulbright: (to Italy)

RSA, Cambridge – Katie Poole and Lisandra Estevez

Sascha Scott – Dissertation Teaching Award

Mary Tinti – Smithsonian Pre-doctoral Fellowship at the Air & Space museum and the Getty Research Institute Dissertation Workshop Award

Patricia Zalamea – interdis. Conference on Ovid at Toronto & selected for ENS exchange in Lyon.

Ph.D. Recipients

Francesca Bacci-Melcher
Meghan Callahan
Justin Carlino
Brian Clancy
Sara Diebel
Emma Guest
Molly Gwinn
Aileen Wang- also awarded Certificate in Curatorial Studies

M.A. Recipients

Francis Fletcher
Thea Gunhouse - also awarded Certificate in Curatorial Studies
Catherine Hammond - also awarded Certificate in Curatorial Studies
Mizuho Saito - also awarded Certificate in Curatorial Studies