SAS Banner
SAS Mobile Banner

Events Calendar 2015-2016

 

 FALL, 2015

September 1, 2015, Tuesday, First Day of Classes Fall Semester 2015

 

September 2, 2015, Wednesday, First Faculty Meeting for Fall Semester, 10:30 am/VH001

 

September 2, 2015, Wednesday, 4:00 pm/Zimmerli Museum Lower Dodge Gallery/ Welcome Reception

 

September 10, 2015, Thursday, 4:00 pm/ AHGSO Meeting/ Graduate Student Lounge

 

September 15, 2015, Tuesday, 3:00 - 3:45 pm/New Graduate Student Orientation hosted by AHGSO with Grad Director and Chairperson/Graduate Student Lounge

 

September 15, 2015, Tuesday, 6:45 pm-8:00 pm/Q&A session and dinner for new graduate students hosted by the Welcome Committee/Graduate Student Lounge

 

September 16, 2015, Wednesday, 10:30 am/Dissertation Proposal Workshop/Graduate Student Lounge

 

October 7, 2015, Wednesday, 10:30 am/Faculty Meeting/VH001

 

October 8, 2015, Thursday, 4:00 pm/ AHGSO Meeting/Graduate Student Lounge

 

October 15, 2015, Thursday, 4:30 pm/Zimmerli Museum Lower Dodge Gallery/Annual Sydney Leon Jacobs Lecture in American Art / Speaker: Doug Nickel from Brown University/Reception immediately following

 

October 28, 2015, Wednesay, 10:30 am/VH001 / Extra Faculty Meeting

 

October 28, 2015, Wednesday, 4:30 pm/Zimmerli Museum Lower Dodge Gallery/Alexandra Kowalski/CHAPS Lecture: To Preserve or Not to Preserve Historic Neighborhood:Theorizing Through the Strange Case of Budapest's "Jewish District"

 

October 29, 2015, Thursday, 4:30 pm/Zimmerli Museum Maxwell MPR/ Distinguished Speaker, Prof. Katherine Welch from NYU IFA

 

October 30, 2015, Friday, Symposium in Honor of Joan Marter's Retirement/Keynote Speaker:Ellen Landau/ Zimmerli Museum Lower Dodge Gallery

 

November 3, 2015, Tuesday, 9:50 am - 12:30 pm , Honors College, Room N 106, CAC  Edith Wolfe, Assistant Director, Undergraduate Affairs, Stone Center for Latin American Studies, Tulane University
"Identity and Citizenship in Brazil"
  

November 5, 2015, Thursday, 4:00 pm/AHGSO Meeting/Graduate Student Lounge

 

 November 11, 2015, Wednesday, 10:30 am/Faculty Meeting/VH001

 

November 12-14, 2015 Thursday through Saturday,  Heldrich Hotel (Additional Information to Follow) CHAPS Shifting Cities conference

 

November 18, 2015, Wednesday, 10:30 am/Graduate Student Lounge/Sarah Brett-Smith's presentation of her new wonderful book , The Silence of the Women, Bamana Mud Cloths (coffee, etc. will be served)

 

November 19, 2015, Thursday, 6:00 pm/Graduate Student Lounge/Study Abroad Orientation Pizza Party 

 

December 2, 2015, Wednesday, 10:00 am/Faculty Meeting/VH001

 

December 2, 2015, Wednesday, 4/30 pm/Fall Faculty Symposium/Graduate Student Lounge / Dr. Thuno

 

December 3, 2015, Thursday, 3:45 pm/AHGSO Meeting/Graduate Student Lounge

 

December 3, 2015, Thursday, 4:30 pm/ Zimmerli Museum Maxwell MPR/ Distinguished Speaker, Professor Michael Meister from Univ of Penn/"The Measure of Monuments"

 

December 4, 2015, Friday, 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm/ Department Holiday Party at Andres' Zervigon's Residence, 130 West 30th Street, Unit 17B, New York, NY

 

 SPRING, 2016

 January 19, 2016 Spring Semester begins

 

January 20, 2016  Wednesday, 10:00 am/Faculty Meeting/VH001

 

January 21, 2016 Thursday, Michelle Berenfeld, Faculty/Director of CHAPS Job Candidate Campus Visit / Starting at 9:00 am / Job Talk at 4:30 pm Zimmerli Museum Maxwell MPR  (Itinerary to Follow)

 

January 26, 2016 Tuesday, Anooradha Iyer Siddiqi, Faculty/Director of CHAPS Job Candidate Campus Visit/ Starting at 9:00 am / Job Talk at 4:30 pm Zimmerli Museum Maxwell MPR (Itinerary to Follow)

 

January 28, 2016, Thursday, 4:00 pm/AHGSO Meeting/Graduate Student Lounge

 

February 3 - 6, 2016 Wednesday through Saturday/ College Art Association Annual Conference (CAA) / Washington, DC

 

February 4, 2016, Thursday, 5:30 pm- 7:00 pm / CAA Reunion, Petits Plats Restaurant, 2653 Connecticut Ave, NW  Washington, DC (next door to Conf)

 

February 8, 2016, Monday, Gertjan Plets, Faculty/Director of CHAPS Job Candidate Campus Visit/Starting at 9:00 am /Job Talk at 4:30 pm Zimmerli Museum Maxwell MPR (Itinerary to Follow)

  

February 11, 2016, Thursday, Rico Trinidad, Faculty/Director of CHAPS Job Candidate Campus Visit/ Starting at 9:00 am / Job Talk at 4:30 pm Zimmerli Museum Maxwell MPR (Itinerary to Follow)

 

February 11, 2016, Thursday, 4:00 pm/AHGSO Meeting/Graduate Student Lounge

 

February 17, 2016, Wednesday, 10:00 am/VH001/Faculty Meeting

 

February 25, 2016, Thursday, 3:00 pm/ AHGSO Meeting/Graduate Student Lounge

 

February 25, 2016, Thursday, 4:00 pm/Graduate Student Lounge/Meeting with Gradute Students and Megan Lotts to discuss the Art Library

 

March 2, 2016, Wednesday, 10:00 am/Faculty Meeting/VH001

 

 March 3, 2016, Thursday, 2:00 pm/Graduate Student Lounge /Distinguished Speaker, Prof. Noam Elcott of Columbia University

 

March 10, 2016, Thursday, 2:00 pm/Printmaking Demonstration with Barbara Madsen/Mason Gross School of the Arts, Civic Service Bldg, Room 202, 33 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick

 

March 23, 2016, Wednesday, Extra Faculty Meeting, 10:00 am - 12:00 noon in VH001

 

March 23, 2016, Wednesday, 4:00 pm/Spring Faculty Symposium/Tatiana Flores Lecture / Title of Lecture: "Relational Undercurrents: Contemporary Art of the Caribbean Archipelago"/ Graduate Student Lounge, VH006F

 

March 24, 2016, Thursday, 4-5:30 pm Zimmerli Museum, Lower Dodge Gallery, Reception to Celebrate the Publication of the Ebook for the Exhibition Seminar from Last Year

 

April 1, 2016, Friday, 10:00 am - 6:00 pm/ Teleconference Lecture Hall, Alexander Library/2016 Rutgers Art History Graduate Student Symposium "Dislocation, Disjuncture, Dispute"                             Keynote Speaker: Dr. Monica Dominguez-Torres, University of Delaware

 

April 4, 2016, Monday, 4:30 - 6:00 pm/ Zimmerli Museum Maxwell MPR/ Herman Schlimme (Tod Marder)

 

April 6, 2016, Wednesday, 10:00 am/Faculty Meeting/VH001

 

 April 7, 2016, Thursday, 3:45 pm/AHGSO Meeting/Graduate Student Lounge

 

April 7, 2016, Thursday, 4:30 pm/Zimmerli Museum Maxwell MPR/ Distinguished Speaker, Dr. Avcioglu from Hunter College

 

April 7, 2016, Thursday, Developing Room in New York/ Zervigon (See website:developingroom.com) for more information

 

April 14, 2016, Thursday, 4:00 - 6:30 pm/Zimmerli Museum Lower Dodge Gallery/ "Roundtable and Reception for Dreamworlds and Catastrophes: Intersectins of Art and Science in the Dodge Collection"

 The Museum will be designing a flyer to be distributed close to this date. (Ksenia Nouril)

 

April 27, 2016, Wednesday, 6:00 - 7:30 pm/ Zimmerli Museum Lower Dodge Gallery/ Celebration Ceremony for Graduating Art History Majors

 

May 3, 2016, Tuesday,  6:30 - 8:00 PM /Art History Honors Presentations/Graduate Student Lounge / VH006F

 

May 12, 2016, Thursday, 10:00 am/Faculty Meeting/VH001

 

May 12, 2016, Thursday, 12 noon/Annual Awards Luncheon/ The Rutgers Club

 

 FALL, 2016

September 6, 2016, Tuesday, First Day of Classes for Fall Semester

 

September 7, 2016, Wednesday, 10:00 am First Faculty Meeting for Fall Semester / Voorhees Hall Room 001

 

September 7, 2016, Wednesday, 4:00 pm Welcome Reception/ Zimmerli Museum/Lower Dodge Gallery

 

October 5, 2016, Wednesday, 10:00 am Faculty Meeting / Voorhees Hall Room 001

 

November 2, 2016, Wednesday, 10:00 am Faculty Meeting/ Voorhees Hall Room 001

 

November 10, 2016, Thursday, 1:30 - 5:00 pm /Zimmerli Museum Maxwell MPR 250th University Anniversary /Art History Department Speakers, Victoria Reed & Norman Kleeblatt, Dir. Jewish Museum in New York/Reception in the Zimmerli Museum Greenwall Education Room

 

 November 15, 2016, Tuesday, Annual Leon Sydney Jacobs Lecture/Speaker:  Rachel DeLue/Zimmerli Museum Lower Dodge Gallery/Reception in Museum Lobby 

 

December 7, 2016,  Wednesday, 10:00 am Faculty meeting/Voorhees Hall Room 001

 

 SPRING, 2017

January 17, 2017, Tuesday, Spring Semester Begins

 

January 18, 2017, Wednesday, 10:00 am, 1st Faculty Meeting Spring Semester/Voorhees Hall 001

 

February 8, 2017, Wednesday, 10:00 am, Faculty Meeting/Voorhees Hall Room 001

 

February 15-18, 2017, Wednesday - Saturday,  CAA College Art Association Conference, New York

 

March 8, 2017, Wednesday, 10:00 am, Faculty Meeting/Voorhees Hall Room 001

 

April 5, 2017, Wednesday, 10:00 am, Faculty Meeting/Voorhees Hall Room 001

 

April 7, 2017, Friday, 9:00 - 5:30 pm/Tod Marder's Retirement Symposium/Zimmerli Museum Lower Dodge Gallery

 

 May 11, 2017, Thursday, 10:00 am, Last Faculty Meeting for the Academic Year/Voorhees Hall Room 001 (Possibly Awards Luncheon at The Rutgers Club at Noon)

 

 

Follow Us

Twitter Icon

Contact Us

Voorhees Hall
71 Hamilton Street
New Brunswick, NJ, 08901


P  848-932-7041

F 732-932-1261
departmental email